The Keith and Marion Moore Blue Box Award

The award is established by Dr. Keith L. Moore, a founding member of the AACA and well-known anatomy textbook author.  The Blue Box Award is for the best student paper published in Clinical Anatomy (CA) during a given calendar year/Journal volume. The awardee must be the first author on the paper. The award consists of a certificate and a check for $500. It is open to graduate and medical students worldwide, even those who have received their PhD or MD's in the year that the paper is published. The student can be nominated by the student's supervisor, anatomy professor, or the Editor-in-Chief of CA will arrange to have all eligible papers from the calendar year submitted to committee members.

A Blue Box Award Committee of 3-5 AACA members is appointed annually by the AACA President, with the Editor-in-Chief of CA being a member of the committee. The Award may not be presented in a given year, if a qualified student paper has not been published. The award is announced and presented at the Annual AACA Meeting Banquet if the author is in attendance.

2017 Blue Box Award Recipient : Hugh Furness

Hugh Furness is a medical student at St. George’s University Hospital, London.  Hugh is undertaking an intercalated BSc during the next academic year in Medical Genetics, specialising in the genetics of cancer.  He has fostered a keen interest in anatomy during medical school, and hopes to pursue a career in surgery.  His particular fields of interest are Plastic Surgery and Orthopaedic surgery.