John Basmajian, Ph.D.

Honored Member 2004

Dr. Basmajian, Professor Emeritus at MacMaster University, is world renowned in the fields of anatomy, electromyography and biofeedback. He has authored or edited over 60 texts and nearly 400 articles as well as produced several films. He has also invented scientific or medical devices and techniques that are still widely used in the field of Rehabilitation Medicine.

Dr. Basmajian earned his medical degree from the University of Toronto in 1945 where he then he joined the staff and achieved the rank of Professor. Along the way he also pursued clinical research at the Hospital for Sick Children studying electromyography, a field in which he was a pioneer. His work with polio patients using electromyography to study muscle control mechanisms revolutionized the use of electronic and mechanical devices for people with neurological and orthopedic impairments. In the 1960's, he adapted his electromyographic feedback research to train patients to regain control muscle functions that were thought to be permanently lost. He is also one of the founding members of the International Society of Electrophysiological Kinesiology (ISEK) in 1965. This society continues today as a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to studying human movement and the neuromuscular system. It is because of these efforts that Dr. Basmajian is referred to as the "Father of EMG Biofeedback Therapy". His appointments during his career included serving as the Head of the Department of Anatomy at Queen's University, Director of the Regional Rehabilitation Research and Training Centre at Emory University and Professor of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at McMaster University.

Dr. Basmajian has trained thousands of medical and therapy students. His anatomy texts, including Surface Anatomy, Primary Anatomy and Muscles Alive are familiar to most of the AACA members. His contributions to the clinical sciences during his career ultimately resulted in his appointment to the Order of Canada. And now it is our pleasure to recognize his distinguished career as the 2004 AACA Honored Member.