Program and Meeting Committees

Meeting Oversight and Program Planning
Annual Meeting Committee

Meeting and Oversight Program Planning Committee

Article VII, Section 5

The Meeting Oversight and Planning Committee is responsible for the overall organization, general content, and budget of each Annual Scientific Meeting and Postgraduate Course; and it plans and sets the Association's long-term programmatic objectives for future meetings over a three (3)-year period. The Committee shall solicit formal invitations and decide the location, venue, duration, and dates for proposed annual meetings and related activities. The Committee oversees the implementation of each annual meeting plan as it pertains to the abstract review and selection process, special speakers, invitations, and program content delivery. It shall appoint: a member to serve as the Local Host for each meeting and a member to chair its Annual Meeting Committee. The Meeting Oversight and Planning Committee is comprised of all Officers of the Association, the Chairs of the Special Interest Committees, the Chair of each Annual Meeting Committee, and the Local Host for each Annual Scientific Meeting. The Meeting Manager serves as an ex officio non-voting member, and the Program Secretary serves as the Chair.

Executive Committee Members

Program Secretary - David J. Porta, Chair
President - Marios Loukas
President-Elect - H. Wayne Lambert
Past President - Neil Norton
Treasurer - Tom Gest
Association Secretary - Peter Ward

Special Interest Committees

Anatomical Services, Co-Chairs - Brandi Schmitt 
Anatomical Services, Co-Chair - David Conley
Career Development Committee, Chair - Sarah Greene
Educational Affairs, Chair - Lela Giannaris
Clinical Anatomical Terminology Committee, Chair - Tom Gest and Evan Goldman

Annual Program Committee Chair

2017 Annual Meeting Co-Chair - Jennifer Burgoon

AACA Meeting Manager

Caitlin Hyatt

Back to the top of the page.


Annual Meeting Committee

Article VIII, Section 5, Subsection A

The Annual Meeting Committee is a special committee responsible for implementing organizational and planning decisions of the Meeting Oversight and Planning Committee, providing local resources and arrangements necessary to hold the meeting, selecting the content of platform and poster sessions, determining the sequence of activities during the meeting, preparation and printing of the meeting's program, and promoting the meeting within the anatomical and clinical communities. The Annual Meeting Committee prepares the Call for Abstracts and then reviews, evaluates and selects presentations according to criteria and guidelines established by the Meeting Oversight and Planning Committee. The Committee is comprised of the Annual Meeting Chair, who serves as the Chair, the Program Secretary, the Local Host, two (2) or three (3) members of his/her designated staff, and the Chair of each Special Interest Committee. Additional members may be appointed by the Chair to aid in the abstract review and selection process. The Meeting Manager serves as an ex officio non-voting member. The term of service for all appointed members shall be for the duration of the Committee's activities.

2018 Annual Meeting Committee, Atlanta, Georgia

Executive Committee Members

Program Secretary - David Porta, Chair
President - Marios Loukas
Treasurer - Tom Gest

Committee Members

Committee Co-Chair - Jennifer Burgoon  
Committee Co-Chair - Sarah Greene

Special Interest Committee Representatives

Anatomical Services - Brandi Schmitt/David Conley
Career Development - Sarah Greene
Educational Affairs - Dolgar Baatar
Clinical Anatomical Terminology Committee - Tom Gest/Evan Goldman

AACA Meeting Manager

Caitlin Hyatt,

Back to the top of the page.